Polyvagal theory certification CE credit hours vary by program, and the Embody Lab's Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate is the longest listed at 60 hours in 2026. Hours are not the same as credits, so check what your licensing board accepts before you enroll.

TL;DR
  • The Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate runs 60 hours, live online, the longest polyvagal program in this ranking for 2026.
  • Contact hours and CE credits are different numbers. Confirm board acceptance for your license before paying.
  • Shorter polyvagal courses suit a first look at the theory; the certificate suits clinical application.
  • Only programs with a stated figure get a number below. Everything else is marked as not stated.

Short answer: what the polyvagal theory certification CE credit hours number is

The one stated figure in this ranking is 60 hours. It belongs to the Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate, a live online program that teaches mental health professionals to apply Polyvagal Theory as a clinical framework for trauma work.

The other polyvagal offerings from The Embody Lab are shorter courses and a one-day summit. Their program pages do not state an hour total in the data behind this page, so they carry no number here. A benchmark with invented hours is worse than a benchmark with gaps.

Why this matters in 2026

Polyvagal vocabulary is everywhere in 2026: neuroception, ventral vagal, co-regulation. Training quality is not. A weekend webinar and a 60-hour certificate both get called polyvagal training.

For a licensed clinician the difference is practical. Hours of instruction tell you depth. CE credits tell you whether your board will count it. You need both answers, and they come from different places.

Polyvagal programs compared by stated hours

The table lists every polyvagal-focused program in the Embody Lab catalog covered here. Hours appear only where the source states them.

Program Format Stated hours Best for
Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate Live online certificate program 60 hours Clinicians who want a full applied framework
Hands-On Polyvagal: Yoga, Vagal Toning & Shame Work Three-part standalone course Not stated Practitioners adding body-based tools
Applied Polyvagal Theory: Science of Safety Course Not stated Readers who want the neurobiology of safety
Polyvagal Theory and Pathways to Connection Course Not stated Practitioners focused on connection and regulation
Summit: The Nervous System Reset One-day summit Not stated A first pass at polyvagal tools

High and low

The Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate leads at 60 hours. Every other program in the table has no stated hours, so none can be ranked against it on numbers. The honest read: the certificate is the only option here with a verifiable depth figure.

Methodology and limits

The hours come from the program descriptions in the Embody Lab catalog as of 2026. Credit approval, accrediting bodies and board acceptance are not part of this table.

That is the main limitation. A 60-hour program does not automatically equal 60 CE credits for every license. Boards differ by state and profession, and the program page is where approved credits are listed.

Program-by-program verdicts

Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate

Best for: licensed therapists and counselors who want to apply Polyvagal Theory across a caseload.

  • Pro: 60 hours, live online, built around clinical application rather than theory alone.
  • Con: the largest time commitment of the polyvagal options. A live format means scheduling around sessions.

Verdict: Buy if polyvagal work is central to your practice in 2026.

Hands-On Polyvagal: Yoga, Vagal Toning & Shame Work

Best for: practitioners who want movement and body-based tools from Dr. Arielle Schwartz's work. See the course with Dr. Arielle Schwartz.

  • Pro: three parts, standalone, so you can add it without committing to a certificate.
  • Con: no hour total stated, so you cannot compare it by hours.

Verdict: Buy as a add-on tool set; Hold if you need a credential.

Applied Polyvagal Theory: Science of Safety

Best for: clinicians who want the neurobiology of safety as a physiological state.

  • Pro: grounds the framework in the science of restoration and health.
  • Con: no stated hours; theory-forward rather than a protocol.

Verdict: Hold until you confirm credits on the program page.

Polyvagal Theory and Pathways to Connection

Best for: practitioners who think about illness as dysregulation and wellness as regulation, with Deb Dana's framing.

  • Pro: a clear lens for client conversations about the nervous system.
  • Con: no stated hours.

Verdict: Hold pending credit details.

Summit: The Nervous System Reset

Best for: a low-commitment first look at polyvagal tools for safety, connection and resilience. Details are on the one-day summit page.

  • Pro: one day, so the barrier to entry is low.
  • Con: no stated hours; not a credential.

Verdict: Buy to test the material, Skip if you need hours toward a certificate.

Polyvagal programs
Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate
A 60-hour live online certificate program applying Polyvagal Theory as a clinical framework.
$977
Hands-On Polyvagal: Yoga, Vagal Toning & Shame Work
A three-part standalone course with Dr. Arielle Schwartz.
$227
Applied Polyvagal Theory: Science of Safety
The neurobiology of safety as a physiological state essential for health.
$247

How to use these benchmarks

  • Match hours to your goal. If you want polyvagal work as a core modality, the 60-hour figure is the yardstick. If you want a few tools, a standalone course is enough.
  • Ask for credit details in writing. Hours of instruction and approved CE credits are separate. Check the program page and your board's rules before enrolling in 2026.
  • Do not rank by hours alone. A short course from a leading faculty member can teach more usable technique than a long course you never finish.
  • Stack, don't duplicate. Start with a course or the summit, then move to the certificate if the material fits your practice.

FAQ

How many hours is the Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate?

It is a 60-hour live online certificate program. It teaches mental health professionals to apply Polyvagal Theory as a clinical framework for trauma work.

Are contact hours the same as CE credits?

No. Contact hours measure instruction time; CE credits are what a board or accrediting body approves. Check the program page and your licensing board in 2026.

What is the best polyvagal theory certification for CE credit hours?

The Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate is the longest listed at 60 hours. Confirm credit approval for your specific license before you enroll.

Do the shorter polyvagal courses count toward CE?

The program details used here do not state hours for them. Check each course page for credit information before assuming they count.

Is a one-day summit enough to learn polyvagal theory?

A one-day summit introduces polyvagal tools for safety, connection and resilience. It is a starting point, not a substitute for a multi-week certificate.

Is the certificate live or self-paced?

The Polyvagal Trauma Therapy Certificate is a live online program. Check the program page for the current schedule.

Who is the polyvagal certificate for?

It is built for mental health professionals who want to apply Polyvagal Theory in trauma work. Non-clinicians may prefer a standalone course.

One last thing

The number that matters most in 2026 is not the hour count on the sales page. It is the line on your board's approved-provider rules. Read that first, then pick the program. A 60-hour certificate that your board will not count is a worse buy than a shorter course it will.

Related guides

— Editorial Team